Wednesday, June 1, 2016 (“Right” by David Bowie)

Updates aplenty…

This past weekend, Michelle and I went up to Rochester to look at places. We were a little bit anxious about this because we have no clue about the market for housing up there. We went with a realtor and we had a list of about five places to see. They were something else. One was right off the highway. For a Sunday afternoon, it was pretty noisy. I can only imagine what it sounds like during rush hour. One was an absolute pig sty. I don’t even know what it would look like if we were there but we saw the pictures on the advertisement online. It looked OK in the ad but when we got there, it was a dump. I felt like I was just being shown how messy and shitty some people’s houses can be. I would be pissed off if I were the owner because whoever is living there is really fucking with his ability to rent it out. One places was in a fairly rough neighborhood. I wasn’t impressed with the inside either. Another place was nice and in a nice area. The problem with it was that we were in there for 5-10 minutes and I was already sweating like crazy. That’s a sign right there. They had fans going on in every room and that didn’t seem to help. The place we liked was OK on price and the house itself. We’ve been going back and forth with our realtor, who’s going to the owner’s realtor and it seems to be falling apart. It sounds like we might have to buy a lawn mower and he said that we can use the washer and dryer until they break (I guess they’re old) and he’s not replacing them. So that means that we might have to buy a mower – $200-300 – and possibly later a washer and dryer ($600-800). It sounds like the guy’s trying his hardest not to get someone to move in. Also, they were trying to force us to choose a move in date, being June 15 or July 1. We could only get a mover for June 26. To prorate the half of the month for a place we couldn’t use for a week and half would cost us about $400 for no using it. So he was trying to fuck us there too. We convinced them that that didn’t seem right.

The whole dealing with this landlord is a bit annoying. I don’t know who is looking out for whom. That’s to say, I don’t know if the owner’s being a hardass or if his agent is doing all the talking and thinking for him. To be fair, you want someone to go to bat for you if you’re not a good negotiator or just can’t be bothered to do everything yourself. But I often find when you have to deal with people advocating for others, you remove the truly affected parties of the deal from the deal. That might be good in some senses, but it also fucks things up. So, in short, I don’t know what the fuck is going on there.

Also, I’m a bit worried about life up there. I can deal with the ice and snow. I have heard that it snows like a motherfucker in the winter. I guess that’ll take some getting used to. I’m more concerned about what I’ll be doing with myself. Michelle’s got two more trips to Kansas this year and apparently her new job will require a lot more time at work in the initial months just getting her up to speed on what she needs to be able to do for her job. I don’t mind that but we’re already a bit strained here. I know Michelle extremely well and I know that she has trouble dealing with juggling a lot of things. So, I’m not sure how she’ll handle things. As for myself, I’m not sure what I’ll be doing. I’m not sure what the market is for a guy like my up there. I put aside all my job search efforts once it was settled that we’d be moving up there. The last few weeks, I’ve set up everything about the month. It’s been a lot more bother than I had been expecting. But unless this whole lease thing falls through (which the probability of that actually happening is increasing slowly but steadily, however not very high, YET), I think all that remains to be done is to pack up our shit and go. I can’t really pack for Michelle, so I’ve been packing up my stuff. I have considerably less stuff than her.

But once we get up there, I’m not sure what to do. I don’t know what the job market is. I did some research on universities in the area and I’ve started contemplating going back to school to get a PhD. There are two problems with that. The first is that I don’t know if I really want to do that. Grad school is a huuuuuuuuuuge pain in the ass. I was fairly miserable doing that. Michelle thinks she wants to commit about 3-4 years in this job. That’s a while. If she does come completely around on the kids issue, I don’t know when she’ll squeeze that in. I don’t know if I want to go to school with a kid or two in the picture. I don’t know if I can go through all that hell of grad school. It was not fun at all. I’d have to apply for it by the beginning of January if I were to start in the Fall of next year. That’s just the first part. The second part is that the University of Rochester is an extremely good school. Probably too good for me. That’s to say, I don’t know that I could get in. My grades were good enough for me to leave Temple with an MA. I don’t know that the track record I had there was good enough to get me into Rochester. They do have some interesting fields I’d like to study but you’ve got to get through the first year or two the absolute assault on your mind of theory and econometrics and stats. I’m wrinkling my nose right now just thinking about it… It sounds like hell because I know that it is hell. Maybe Temple was just bad. The professors there were awful. You got no help from them and some of them were just looking for ways to fail you. I don’t get that attitude but it was the case that many were like that. Also, academia is just an ivory tower. That’s the cliché but it seems to be true. These guys are so far removed from reality that it actually frightens me. Then there’s the whole question of how to pay for it all. I think they give funding but I don’t know to how many people. Ugh…

More on the move and the saga of the real estate as it comes in. I’m exhausted just thinking about it all. But this time next month, we should be up there and all settled in. Maybe.

 

Leave a Reply

