Tuesday, April 19, 2016 (“Caught Somewhere in Time” by Iron Maiden)

I went to Colorado last week. I realize that I haven’t written anything since I got back on Thursday evening. Well, here I am writing. I went out there for a couple of days to see Iron Maiden and a baseball game. The game was good and the concert was awesome. Maiden is one of my favorite bands. The seat I had was really close but not on the floor. I’m glad that I had a seat, although I never sat down during the show. It was a great view. I screamed my head off. Now that I’ve been back for a few days, I’m sick. For once, it’s good that I don’t have a job to go to. I’m just going to sit in bed and watch some movies today, just like I did yesterday.

Tiny illnesses like this are not all that bad. I’ve just got a cold. I’ve been through that dozens of times. It’s not extremely fun but it allows you to slow down, sit in bed and relax. That’s the only way you’re going to get better. About 10 years ago, during the whole thing with Hurricane Katrina, I had a pretty rough illness. I don’t think I ever found out what it was. Everything I ate ran right through me. I was in the bathroom pretty much 24-hours a day for a week. I honestly remember nothing about Katrina, as if I were a young person reading about something that happened before I was born. But that bout I had there makes me appreciate, to this very day, having regular, ordinary movements and not being glued to a toilet non-stop. So, being stuffed up and sitting in bed isn’t so bad. Times like these make me appreciate being able to smell things, to have my head not feel like a balloon and to be able to breathe normally.

In news on the Upstate New York front, the hospital and Michelle have been going back and forth on the negotiations. I think it might happen. I’m a bit nervous about money at the moment. I don’t really like the idea of asking my parents for help. But that’s always an option. I’m really to set out on my own at some point. I’m too old for that shit anymore. I’m beginning to miss it here already and we haven’t even left yet. I guess whatever it takes for us two to be happy and be together is what is necessary to do. Rochester is not exactly an exotic place people dream about living in but I suppose there are worse places to be in.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday, April 19, 2016 (“Caught Somewhere in Time” by Iron Maiden)

Leave a Reply

