Monday, February 15, 2016 (“Both Sides Now” by Joni Mitchell)

I spent the weekend down with my parents. I got my first physical in a long time. I passed the blood pressure and and physical portion. But it appears that my cholesterol is way too high. I’m a little worried about that. I guess I’ll just have to change the way I eat.

I’ve come back a bit different. Seeing my parents was nice but actually pretty boring. They just seem to watch a hell of a lot of TV. I can only take that so much. I’m sadden by this because I don’t like people’s common points being people lying about being another person in a ridiculous situation (usually not very funny even though that’s the goal) and repeating the same lines back to each other. People’s lives seem to be parroting these lines back and forth toward one another. It just seems boring and stupid to me.

So, I’ve come back with a resolve to do things a bit different. I know it’s hard to reinvent oneself. I’m pretty sure that I don’t even want to do that. I just want to change things up a bit. I’ve talked it over with Michelle. When it warms up around Springtime, we’ll start biking. That means that we need some bikes. I’ll also need to get a bike rack. Philadelphia’s got a ton of places to ride your bike. I’m tired of just going over to the gym. But when it’s 25 degrees out, it’s not very inviting to do a whole lot other than run inside to where it’s warm.

I’m determined to make the quality of my life better. I’m sure a lot of that can be done with getting out of the house more often and changes in attitude and perspective. So, let’s have some change. I think we can have anything we want, more or less, I just think we’ve been going about it the wrong way. I’ll also confess to an ulterior motive. I think the better Michelle feels about herself mentally, physically and stress-wise, the better the chances that she’ll come around to agreeing with me about starting a family. Not that the surface reasons aren’t good enough. I get the feeling that she won’t even approach the subject until she feels more comfortable about money, her psyche and herself physically. I also think that we’ll have more to look at outside of watching TV together and eating food. The variety will allow us to appreciate things more, the exciting and the mundane.

Leave a Reply

