Monday, January 11, 2016 (“The Bewlay Brothers” by David Bowie)

I woke up this morning to let the dog out and get the laundry started. Unfortunately, I saw that David Bowie died. I’ve never met the man. I only really got into his music about ten or fifteen years ago or so. The best part of his career was behind him by the time I was born. I’m not really sure how he fits into musical history. I just know his music is great and the lyrics are interesting and funny. It’s amazing that someone you’ve never met can put a smile on your face and play a small role in your life.

I’m not really going to go on a tirade about how people are posting pictures of him and videos of his music on facebook and elsewhere, I’m sure. Sure, I’ll be posting one on here just to note what’s been going on my mind this morning. But this is more of a diary than a place to show off my thoughts and feelings to others. This is fairly private since I do not advertise it. I don’t make money off of it and I doubt very much if anybody who stumbles across this diary would be able to connect it to me personally. I just find the advertising of one’s grief suspicious and just distasteful. That’s just me. I don’t like putting my feelings on display for others, especially sadness. I guess I’m different from some others. It just seems like this is a ritual that people go through when someone famous dies. A video gets posted of them and everybody congratulates themselves on knowing who he was, even if just vaguely. Maybe I’m just reading it all wrong but I just feel strangely about it.

Anyway… about me and us. Michelle is down in Virginia Beach doing a day-long interview with a rehab clinic and general practice clinic. There are a few stumbling blocks about the whole thing. They advertised a rehab job and now they’re slipping in a couple of days a week at the GP clinic. They’re not really saying what they’d be offering as far as benefits and that. I think Michelle is sitting on the fence about the place. I secretly think that it would be good for her because there’s really nothing coming down the pike anytime soon.

On the other hand, I don’t really want to go down there. I had a phone interview with Catherines Clothing in Bensalem. I don’t know the first thing about clothing, women’s clothing or plus-size women’s clothing. But the position really doesn’t have anything to do with that. It’s a financial analyst job. I think I’d be checking on whether or not the locations’ finances are in order and some other stuff that I’ll learn about on Wednesday when I have an interview there. This is my first real bite on a job. It’s in Bensalem, where I used to live when I was a kid. I know very little about what they’d pay and what the benefits would be, etc. I’m also a bit hesitant about this whole situation. I don’t want to change my situation drastically if I don’t get some answers from Michelle about starting a family. I’m scared of the possibility of losing her and also moving to a place I don’t really want to be when our situation is unresolved. It doesn’t really seem to be getting any more resolved. But at least I’ve got a nibble on my line and so has she.

Leave a Reply

