Saturday, September 26, 2015 (“My Favorite Things” by John Coltrane)

Today feels like a Sunday. I took off from work yesterday because I thought traffic was going to be crazy for the Pope’s visit. Apparently, it was ridiculously clear. So, I’m out $100. But it was nice having the day off. Still, I don’t know that I would do the same thing if I had been better informed.

Somehow this week as a little rough. Something in my head is annoying me. It’s the stagnation of my life. I feel like I’m not in complete control of my life as it is right now. My job is far and is a dead end. It’s also really boring. I’m trying to find ways to make it more bearable but they don’t seem to be doing the trick. Next week, we are going to Las Vegas for Michelle to have a job interview. I really don’t know how I feel about going to Las Vegas. The prospect of living there is a little scary. It seems like a city devoid of any real character and personality beyond the bright lights and drunken escapades that the place advertises. The drunken escapades chapter of my life has long been over. It wasn’t even really that long of a chapter. More like a blurb. We’ll see. We’ve pretty much lied to everyone about us going out there except for my parents who will be watching our animals for us. I told work that I was going down to DC to visit my parents and she’s not telling a soul about it at work because she’s going to be on a job interview and that would make things extremely awkward.

I don’t think I’ll miss my life here very much. I’m sure parts of it will be miss-able. But on the whole, it’s not very great, our life here. I think we need to move forward in order to feel better about ourselves here. I am not sure that that can happen by living anywhere near here.

Anyway, when I get in a little funk about things, I like to focus on some of the things that make me happy in and of themselves. I ask myself: What do you like for itself? Not for some side benefit, but things that bring you joy just by being around? It’s funny because one of my favorite songs is a jazz version of the song from The Sound of Music, “My Favorite Things”, whose subject is precisely that action. When things are shitty in your life, focus on the things that make you extremely happy and then take a step back and see that the shitty things in life aren’t so bad after all.

Leave a Reply

