Monday, September 14, 2015 (“In Memory of Elizabeth Reed” by The Allman Brothers Band)

I’m devising a little experiment for myself. For a while, I will not express a firm opinion about anything to anyone unless I am asked.

The reason why I am bringing this up is because I don’t really believe that most conflict in the world is necessary. I know that almost anything I say is not going to spark some sort of war around me. But the underlying point is that I think that nobody really cares about anyone else’s opinion on anything. So often opinions and beliefs are not solicited but are instead volunteered. We can go a moment without someone volunteering details about his life, his opinion or something along those lines.

One of the reasons that so many people, both big and small, get in trouble and that’s because they’ve got big mouths. Sometimes I get called a big mouth. I don’t really do it because I mean to offend anyone.  I end up doing it because I don’t really seem to have a filter. So, I’m going to put on the ultimate volunteer filter. No opinions on anything until asked.

It’s actually quite arrogant and self-centered to think that anyone gives a shit about what I have to think anyway. I’ve always had that opinion about everybody else. Why not take it to heart and see what goes on as a result?

That’s not to say I’ll refrain from any conversation at all. I think that you can have a conversation without giving any sort of opinion whatever, especially an unsolicited opinion.

I suppose that the hardest part of the experiment will be actually putting anything to the test. I hardly talk to anyone about anything at all in the day. I basically talk to two people on a regular basis. So, I guess it’ll be a more focused experiment. Therefore the results won’t be very interesting. But I’ll try to keep it going as long as I can. Perhaps I’ll learn something from this. Perhaps I won’t.

Leave a Reply

