Thursday, September 10, 2015 (“Ides of March / Wrathchild” by Iron Maiden)

I can hardly believe that it’s been a week since my last little entry. I would like to say that a whole shit load of things have happened to me and it’s amazing how it all happened in such a short time, but I can’t. It was nice to get a 3-day weekend last weekend. I much prefer 3-day weekends to be Saturday, Sunday and Monday. That way you get the effect of the long weekend over two weeks. You get the build-up to the long weekend, the weekend itself and then the holiday as an added bonus. Then, you’ve only got four days on the other side of it. What’s more, you get both of your Fridays – two fewer days to have to press your clothes to wear to work. Two fewer days of being uncomfortable in stuffy work clothes. Enough of the past.

Michelle and I are pondering our future. She’s got a hospital that wants her to go out and visit… in Las Vegas. What a strange place. I honestly have never even thought about visiting there, let alone living there. So many things about the place seem to clash with who I am. It’s famous for the gambling, the shows and the prostitutes. I don’t gamble. I’m not really into shows. I would like to see Penn and Teller. But I think once would be enough. As for the prostitutes, well, it would be hard to explain that to the girlfriend. I’m not much up for any of that. Furthermore, I’ve heard that it’s hot as fuck out there in the summer. I have never imagined living in the desert. That would be interesting to say the least.

One thing on my mind in pondering Las Vegas is what I would do for work. I don’t think it’s any secret that Michelle and I are just champing at the bit for a big change in our lives. Here in the US, I’ve only ever lived in the Philadelphia area or the Washington, DC area. This is a move out west – to a desert – where I know absolutely no one – in a town whose main industry is hedonism and I have a Master’s degree in Economics. Hmmm… I’m still trying to process this whole thing.

One thing I’ve been doing in my spare time at home while Michelle has been at work, is doing an online programming class. Actually, it’s web design. I don’t even know why I picked it. I just went for something that I had had some sort of experience with before. In order to get out of undergrad, I had to take a computer class. This was along the lines of finding the on/off switch, learning to use Google and very basic HTML. Anyway, the course track they’ve got on the site has 10 classes and by the end of it, you’re supposed to be good enough to be a pro. I’ve finished the first one and have done the first two sections of the second. If we do indeed end up out there, I imagine by the time we do get out there I’ll probably have finished the second class. Then after we find a place, I’ll still be unemployed. While looking for a job – even part-time temp stuff (like the one single one I’ve had for the last year and a half… HA!) – I can continue with all this stuff I’ve been doing. I’ll get to know the area and really plow through all this work. Funny, now that I think of it, it doesn’t seem so strange. It could actually be fun. The cost of living (at least the apartments and houses I’ve seen on Craigslist.com) is way cheaper than it is here in the Delaware Valley – that is, if you don’t want to live in a shit hole (in North Philadelphia as I did for a year and a half). Watch this space…

Anyway, I have finally received my ordered copy of the new album by Iron Maiden and am listening to it right now. I didn’t have much to do at work today, so I listened to Iron Maiden in anticipation…. Here’s one of my favorites (Sure, it’s not a Bruce song, but Paul’s great, too).

Leave a Reply

