Thursday, September 3, 2015 (“Hey Jealousy” by Gin Blossoms)

This week has gone by a lot more quickly than I had expected. If you had asked me about that a few years ago, I would have said that that was a good thing. Now, I’m not so sure.

Let’s face it, we like time to pass by quickly when we’re doing something painful, boring or just annoying. That way we don’t have to deal with it too much. But really, why are we in such a hurry to get past all of that. But time is not something that we should really be trying to pass or kill. I know, I don’t like work or working out or sitting in traffic either. But it seems a bit wrong to relish the fact that part of our short stint on here on earth is elapsing quickly.

So, what do you do when you’re in a shitty situation and you just don’t want to be there anymore? Well, rather than convincing yourself that time has gone by more quickly than it would have otherwise done, why don’t we either come it at it with a different attitude or do something about it.

As far as attitude is concerned, we could find some way to find some sort of good in the more boring and painful moments in life. I’ve been doing that this week. Since I’ve been a whole lot of nothing at work, I’ve decided to do something with that time. Essentially the people at work don’t need me, so the time passes and passes. I used to just sit there and read shit on the internet. But I’ve come to the realization that I don’t give a shit about celebrities. I barely care about sports. The markets are being manipulated by speculators, government officials and politicians. I listen to music but there’s a really passive thing to do with all that time on my hands.

When I really have nothing to do at work, I’ve started reading books. I’ve started a website (https://knowitalltoknownothing.wordpress.com/) devoted to reading all the great works of Western literature. I put up all my notes on there. I’ve started this before but stopped mostly out of laziness. Some work cropped up along the line but it really was mostly laziness. Anyway, I really am convinced that this will work. I really feel that because when I do it, I feel productive. I feel like I’m learning something worth while. I won’t bore you with the details but even no work is getting done, something is being done.

Leave a Reply

