Thursday, August 20, 2015 (“L’Amitié” by Françoise Hardy)

Yesterday I did some more programming. Some of this stuff would make people spit out their drinks through their noses how simple it is. I mean, it is a bit of a refresher for me but I don’t know where I need to begin so I thought I would be begin at the beginning. Sometimes it’s just as simple as that. But more importantly than where you began is that you began at all. I’ve been working on it for a few days and I must say that I’ve notice that I need to pay a bit more attention to details. Very often a stray ‘ or the odd ; will fuck your code right up. That’s always been a problem of mine – attention to detail. You have to make sure that not only are there no stray keystrokes, but you add you finishing </a> s and things like that. Sometimes making your files look clean and spacing things out makes things work out.

On a similar note, work has been absolutely dead slow. I’ve really had almost nothing to do at work. So, rather than sitting around bored out of my mind, I decided to work on making easier and faster whatever I need to do whenever it is that I actually. There’s a little routine that’s done in our department to find out what’s not been working and how important it is to be fixed. Somehow anyone who does it gets a different answer to anybody else who does it. That can be problematic if you end of leaving things out that should be in. If you put in things that aren’t a problem, that’s a waste of time. Anyway, I decided to do something with the extra time. I’ve made a file that pretty much automates it. I don’t really give a shit whether it saves any time or if any of my superiors even hear about it ever. I’m more concerned about making something that works. I honestly don’t really want to help them out too much because they’ve basically ignored me and I don’t think they deserve any more than what they get right now. Like I said, I just want to be able to improve my logical thinking skills and my Excel skills to the point where I feel confident enough to build on them.
One thing that thinking in this programming code frame of mind has got me doing in questioning things that I always took for granted. I really am trying to get out of the mindset of just accepting things as they are. I now approach problems with the attitude that there absolutely must be a way to do whatever it is that I want to do and it’s my job to find out how. By that, I mean I don’t really accept explanations that just accepted without much in the way of logic and evidence. Furthermore, I find myself more like a child than I’ve ever – questioning things that we have just learned to accept. The cliché of that is asking why the sky is blue. “Because it is” is usually the response one would get from an annoyed adult. But blue is such an arbitrary color for the sky to be. Any of color would be weird to our minds because we accept it, but it wouldn’t be weird to a person seeing the sky for the first time. Anyway, I wonder what roads that will lead me down.
Leave a Reply

