Wednesday, August 19, 2015 (“Beware My Love” by Wings)

I finally made a step in the right direction. I signed up for Teamtreehouse.com. I know it’s not going to solve my problems right away. But I usually find even just the tiniest step in the right direction is better than nothing at all. I think we all dream of making leaps and bounds of progress in one go. On occasion, life happens in big jumps. You might get a new job, a new girlfriend, move to new place, have a baby. These changes are stark. They are things that are sudden and demand you to live your life very differently the moment that they happen. But in examining the short (yet long enough) years I’ve been around, these moments don’t happen very often. If they did, they would cease to be special. Your life would be in constant upheaval and mostly likely a complete mess. As the saying goes, a rolling stone gathers no moss. You cannot lay down roots if you’re constantly moving.

So, what does signing up to some website that teaches you how to do programming make one’s life better? I’m not sure. The next morning, I didn’t feel very much better. Actually, that’s not 100% true. Since I’m paying $25 per month for it, I’ve committed myself to doing something. I tend to follow through with plans when I have some sort of negative consequence in the offing hanging in the balance. Having wasted money is a fairly bad consequence, at least to me – especially since I don’t have very much.
I signed up for HTML coding. I understand that there are entire programs that will help you design a website without you ever having to learn how to do HTML coding. But that’s not really the point. That’s like relying 100% on a calculator instead of learning math. Sure, you can do some math but it removes thinking from the process. And if you ever want to do deeper and more complicated calculations, you’ll need that stronger understanding of what you’re doing.
Leave a Reply

