Saturday, August 15, 2015 (“The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” by The Band)

This morning I had the house to myself. I didn’t do a whole lot. I had my pot of tea and listened to music. It was pretty fun. I went over to the gym and finished the Civil War series I’ve been watching on Netflix. Netflix really helps you get through the drag of going to the gym and sweating it out. I had seen the series a couple of times before. Once, when it first came on TV about 20-some years ago. Another time, when I was taking a history class on the Civil War. I feel that every American and every resident of America should watch it. If you want to get a greater appreciation for what America is, watch that. Shelby Foote is fantastic in that. He sums up what I’ve always thought about the first impression (only the first impression) I get from Southerners: They’re either absolute yokels or more charming and sophisticated than Northerners can dream of being. You definitely should put him in the second category.

I think my sleeping schedule is back on track. It’s about time, too! Not being able to sleep properly is one of the miserable experiences one can endure. Your body cannot function at its most basic level when you’ve had no sleep.

I guess I’ve come up with a little plan for myself. I’ll hold out until after Labor day so I can get an extra day of pay without having to work. That’ll be another $100 in my pocket for doing nothing. But I’ve got to start looking for other jobs. I’m not getting anywhere being at my current job. But while I’m out of work searching for jobs, I’ll spend time learning programming. I’ve looked around at a bunch of languages that companies have been looking for on the job postings. I’ve found a couple of websites where I’ll learn them (Tableau.com, Udemy.com, Teamtreehouse.com). There are a ton of languages that look decent (VBA, Python, Ruby, iOs stuff, Java, improve my Excel skills (especially Macros) etc.). I’ll have a lot of time to get good at them. I’ll be doing something with myself and even make myself a better catch in the job market. All I know is that my present situation is killing me. I feel like I’m dying on the inside. Maybe mid-September I’ll be lying around the house, studying and laughing about this shit. Most definitely.

P.S. It’s amazing how a Canadian band can sum up the misery and weariness that the Civil War did to the country, especially the South.

Leave a Reply

